Posted by: wolferiver | September 2, 2009

Great Free Entertainment

I say if it’s free, it’s for me.

That motto is a good one for software, but doesn’t work so well for “free entertainment”.  The former is usually decent, whereas the latter is usually pretty bad.  As you might have guessed, it takes far more effort and care, not to mention money, to make good entertainment than to write functional code.

Here are two GREAT pieces of entertainment that are totally free to partake.  (Well, apart from paying for internet access — but then, if you’re reading this, then you’ve already got that covered.)

After seeing an episode of the BBC TV show Spaced I was intrigued enough to actually buy it on DVD.  The first series is brilliant, and I’ll be watching the second one tonight.  You can see all the episodes for free (well, at the price of sitting through some commercials) and try it out for yourself.  It’s a smart, well-written show, in the vein of things you might see from Kevin Smith, but in my opinion more intelligent.  (So, if you like Kevin Smith’s work, but wish he would be just a little bit deeper, then Spaced deserves a look.)

Mr. Penumbra’s Twenty-Four-Hour Book Store is a charming short story written by Robin Sloan.  And I’m saying this as someone who dislikes the short story format, so I think that’s saying a lot.  I’m always gob-smacked by good writing, which causes me to writhe in a melange of envy, anguish, and despair.  (Anyone who pretends at writing will know what I mean.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

