Posted by: wolferiver | December 22, 2008

The Alphabet Movie Game

Apropos below, that same blogger listed a game wherein you list 26 of your favorite movies in alphabetical order.  (Only 26?)  Since I’m just goofing off instead of focusing on my work, I’ll give it a whirl.  I’ll try and stick to my own collection, since presumably I shelled out only for movies that I admired.

Gosh, but the letter “A” is tough.  Arsenic and Old Lace?  Alien Nation?  How about Apollo 13?  Or maybe The Apartment.  I don’t know, I loved them all.

B” is hardly easier.  Benny and Joon?  The Big Lebowski?  Big Trouble in Little China?  Bottle Rocket??  The Boxer?  Brassed Off?  Braveheart?  Bridget Jones Diary?  Bringing Out the Dead?  the Brother From Another Planet?  Bull Durham??

Well, let’s see if “C” gets any easier.  There can’t be that many C movies that I liked.

The Castle?  Chaplin?  Chicken Run?  Children of Men?  A Christmas Carol (the George C. Scott one)?  Cold Comfort Farm?  Croupier??

Oy.  This is proving to be too tough.

Lemme give “D” a try.  Dances With Wolves or Dark City?  Okay, I still can’t decide, but at least it’s down to just two.

How about “E“?  Elizabeth?  Escape From L.A.?  Eyewitness??  With only three choices, that’s not too bad.  Things are improving.

F”  Oh no.  Field of Dreams, The Fifth Element, A Fish Called Wanda, The Four Musketeers (that’s the Richard Lester version, along with it’s companion, the Three Musketeers), The French Lieutenant’s Woman, and From Dusk Till Dawn.

This isn’t getting easier.

G” offers me an impossible choice of Galaxy Quest, Gallipoli, Get Shorty, Gladiator, Gods and Monsters, Gosford Park, and Grosse Pointe Blank.

H” is just as impossible:  High Fidelity, Highlander, His Girl Friday, Home Fries, and Hunt For Red October.

I’m going to have to throw in the towel.  I just can’t do this.  How anybody can pick only 26 favorites is beyond me.  Who’s idea was this, anyway.  I gotta go do some real work.

Leave a Reply

Categories

