Posted by: wolferiver | October 19, 2007

Public TV Justifies Its Existence

If you’re lucky, there are a few seminal moments when you see something on television so astonishingly original and so entertaining that you’ll remember that moment clearly for the rest of your life. Seeing Monty Python on television for the first time was such a moment for me. It knocked me off my feet.

Monty Python Holy Grail Photo

Today I came across this sweet little video clip of an interview with members of Monty Python on a Dallas TV station during their pledge drive. This must have aired sometime in the same year that I discovered the show. After watching it through, I realized that if it hadn’t been for PBS, we Americans might never have discovered Monty Python.

I think that provides all the justification for PBS that will ever be needed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

